DIY

DIY Charm Bookmark

I was in need of a bookmark for my travellers notebook. Instead of purchasing one, I decided to use what I already have.

I looked though my cardstock pile and couldn’t find any patterns that suited what I was wanting to achieve, so I grabbed a piece of plain white cardstock, and wrapped it with my favourite washi tapes from the Washi Gang, then rounded the corners with scissors.

20161017_121235132_ios

Next, I added the word ‘Today’ using a printed alphabet sheet in Septembers Lollipop Box Club. You could use stickers, print out your own letters, or, of course, write on it yourself. After you’ve placed the letters, secure them with glue.

20161017_121333011_ios

Next, punch a hole roughly about a cm from the bottom of the bookmark.

20161017_121552539_ios

Now its time to laminate. Once finished, re-punch the hole. Don’t worry if you don’t have a laminator, you can use clear packing tape, or sticky tape. You don’t have to do any of this, but it does protect the bookmark from getting dirty, and makes it stronger.

20161017_123757266_ios

Next, I attached a charm (also from Lollipop Box Club) to some twine and secured it with a knot. I thread the other side of the twine through the hole and wrapped it around the bookmark a couple of times, and secured it at the back. I took another piece of twine and created a bow and added this to the front with a glue dot, but you could also use a hot glue gun.

20161017_132542000_ios

and this is the final result. I love how it turned out.

20161017_124014786_iosI hope you create your own charm bookmark. If you do, please tag me on either Instagram or Twitter. I would love to see your creations.

Until next time,

Claire

6 thoughts on “DIY Charm Bookmark

  1. Such a lovely idea!! I especially like how you wrapped the twine and added a charm. Will definitely have to try this, and tag you on IG!😊
    Melissa (Sweetdreamsofparis on IG)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

